On Nocturnal Living

Tonight, from 2:30 AM till 3:40AM, I drove around and took photos of scenes that I thought would be able to encapsulate emotions- emotions that I typically feel at night while I’m wide awake and everyone else is asleep. I’ll share a few of them. There are not very many images, but I’m fairly certain my point is made more clear by the lack of quality images… 2014-10-02 at 14-15-57Walmart- one of the few places open 24 hrs. As always, the people found in Walmart are interesting, but the quantity of interesting people is simply lacking at 3AM.

IMG_20141002_025648_489This is part of how I validate my introversion. I’m definitely not anti-social, but I do get rather frustrated by people’s ignorance sometimes. I do not think that all or even most people are ignorant, but the ones that are tend to get on my nerves. I’m sure this statement has something to say about the amount of grace I extend to to ignorant people. It is important to note: naiveté and ignorance are two fundamentally different characteristics… I usually associate arrogance and stupidity with ignorance… Technically the shirt would be more fitting if it said “I’m Anti-Ignroance” and was an XL.2014-10-02 at 14-28-13 (1)Empty streets can be surprisingly beautiful. Silence and solitude are nice; however, especially when looking at the “beauty” of this scene, one cannot fully appreciate its beauty without acknowledging that it was designed by humans. The hand of God that rolled this hill was paired perfectly with the hands of humans. They recognized the available natural beauty and added to it based on necessity, thus creating a new form of beauty.  Pretty cool stuff. 2014-10-02 at 14-28-132014-10-02 at 15-19-42Physical activity, entertainment, and social engagement are at a bare minimum for nocturnes (who aren’t out partying). During the day, these stands would normally be filled with cheering fans and dust would be filling the air as bats cracked and hands clapped. Right now the only things to be seen are silent stands and droplets of dew. 2014-10-02 at 14-46-54SO… the decision that I and every one of the other nocturnes have to make is this- do I want to walk down this path alone?

2014-10-02 at 14-59-34Yesterday I heard an amazing quote at the beginning of a chapel service. It hit me so hard that I had a difficult time paying attention throughout the rest of the service. Here’s how it went-

“Whatever you give up for God will be filled and replaced by God with more of Himself.”

This is such a simple quote, and technically I already knew it was true… but I had rarely made the connection between things that I find hard to give up and the real peace and joy that I feel when God is allowed to be active in my life.

So here is what I want to give up- emptiness, loneliness, and lack of fulfillment.

And here is what I want from God in return- fullness, relationship, and profound purpose.

I’ll let you know how it turns out for me!

Leave a Reply

