What I can, & what I would… What is/isn’t in my bag.

Lately, I’ve been seeing a bunch of foreigners walking around town with uber expensive camera bodies and lenses. It reminded me of the old “what’s in my bag” videos I used to watch on YouTube.

So I decided to show what key camera equipment I have in my bag! Wahoo.

First up, the AF-S Nikkor 55-200mm 4-5.6G ED VR DX. 

AF-S Nikkor 55-200mm 4-5.6G ED VR DX

This is a very standard DX zoom lens with a minimal focusing distance of 3.6 ft. This should be a pretty decent lens due to the ED (extra low dispersion- reduces chromatic aberration) glass and the vibration reduction… but good golly it is a pain in the butt to use! The AF-S focusing motor is extremely slow, very loud, and inconsistent even at lower apertures (min of 4). As you can see in the image below, the sharpness is simply lacking and difficult to maintain despite the Vibration Reduction. I would not recommend this lens to anyone that is going to be shooting moving subjects at the higher range (sports/nature photographers), even if it was from the unreliable AF-S. I could, however, see it being used by entry level dslr hobbyists looking for a lens that can cover almost any need in focal length.

Here is a link to Ken Rockwell’s JPEG shot of a giraffe using a 16.2 MP D7100 (6 more MP than my D3000). Notice the distortion in the mane and the lack of sharpness around the horns and mouth. http://www.kenrockwell.com/nikon/d7000/samples/D7K_6438-1200.jpg

Next we have my AF-S Nikkor 18-55mm 3.5-5.6G VR DX kit lens. 
AF-S Nikkor 18-55mm 3.5-5.6 G VR DXThis lens has been my go-to lens (even though I only have 2). I have found it to be quick to focus, lightweight, and pretty dang sharp for a kit lens. I don’t really need to say a lot about this lens because it is fairly standard and seen quite often. I will say though, that I am happy with the quality of photos that it has given me based on its price range and the aperture/focal length combination that Nikon gave me to work with here. Naturally, it is not an excellent portrait lens even on a DX camera because of how small you have to keep your aperture when zoomed in. It does get the job done though. If you want to see some portrait examples just check out some of my other posts tagged “photography;” chances are, most of the images will have been taken with my 18-55. I saw pretty good bokeh in the 18mm 3.5-4 range however, which has made this a great lens to photograph still objects when going for a macro look. The sharpness and color is really good, especially for amateur photographers!

Example:

DSC_2667Finally, in my bag, I have the Nikon D3000.

nikon-d3000-dslr

I won’t even bother to try to give my review of the body itself. All I will say is that it has been a sturdy and reliable camera that is great at helping people learn the basics of photography (especially if you actually get out of AUTO). In consistent and good available lighting, the camera produces good results that almost any amateur would be happy with. At higher ISOs and in low light situations, especially with moving subjects and higher shutter speeds, I have had difficulty coming up with photos that weren’t grainy.

NOW FOR THE (not so) FUN PART- WHAT ISN’T IN MY BAG! aka. “wishlist”

First- The Nikon D7100

24.1 MP, 6fps, 1080p HD video, 51 AF system, great dynamic range and quality at up to 6400 ISO (based on many reviews), and a very attractive body 😛

NEXT! AF-S Nikkor 50mm 1.8G It is a small lens with huge capability. Great for traveling, portraits and even landscapes. 1.8 max aperture means I can get high quality images and sharpness even in lowlight situations.

 

Finally- the AF Zoom-Nikkor 80-200mm 2.8 ED. Ideal for outdoor portraits or anywhere that I can scoot back to get the 80mm range in with my DX camera body. The wide max aperture of 2.8 would be perfect for sports/nature photography and anything slightly out of range of my 18-55 3.5-5.6G (which I would probably keep) in addition to having the 50 1.8G.

Sadly, however, this AF on this lens would not function on my D3000 just like many other lenses. 😦

 

 

So thats what I’ve got and don’t got. Wanna know something else I don’t got??? – $2500 that it would cost to buy all of that gear :/ 😥

 

 

Leave a Reply

