A Ride Through History

One of my favorite things to do is drive- not just to drive, but to travel without direction. Today I took the time to go exploring for a while. I had no idea where I was going or where the road would take me. As it turned out, I would be driving through history.

My excursion brought me to the “Historic Town of Marshall, NC.”

Nothing more in size than a hole in the wall, Marshall’s downtown spanned less than about 1 square mile. Despite its size, this area had quite a lot to offer. It was void of modern pleasures, but packed with tradition and relics of a time not so long ago.

In finding this town, I was reminded of a more calm, less complicated time in which my parents and grandparents lived.

My stay was limited, but the time that I spent in downtown Marshall was very advantageous. I rode off into the distance with a new state of mind. I  now have a more acute appreciation for simplicity and historical beauty.

Having this experience sure makes it easier to listen to the words of our elders: “Back in my day, we used to…” seems just a little bit more real than it did before this experience.

I then proceeded to go home, eat, and chop down a few trees. Overall, today was a great day.

2 thoughts on “A Ride Through History

    • Thank you! Photography is one of my favorite hobbies, and I am hoping to eventually turn it into a side job. I’m an amateur with an entry level DSLR. More doors will open up as soon as I get the chance to upgrade the equipment in my bag. Thoreau put out some great work… what I love is that most of it is applicable to everyone.

Leave a Reply

